Battle is at it again!

5 out of 5 stars

Marcus Battle is back at it again.  Picking up where Home left off, Battle is thrown into worse and worse situations as he is forced to face the ever-changing post-Scourge world.

The narration was done by Kevin Pierce, who also narrated the first book.  I’ve mentioned every time that I listen to a book narrated by Pierce that he has the perfect “prepper” type voice, and I felt that way again.  But, his voice is synonymous with Battle in my eyes.  They are the same person.

I really enjoyed Home, the first book in this series.  Once I realized that there was more to the story, I couldn’t wait to dive into Canyon.  I was not disappointed.  Canyon starts off right where Home left off and doesn’t take its foot off the gas the entire story.

Battle is thrown into unbelievable circumstances over and over again and it seems like he can almost get through anything.  And as the reader, you are taken along for the ride, thrown into scarier and scarier situations along with Battle and his small group of new friends.

I really enjoyed Home, but Canyon’s jumping back and forth between present and the past to give a much better background on Battle makes this book even better.

I’m not one for spoilers, and I won’t spoil anything by hinting, but the ending of this book was crazy.  I had some sneaking suspicions throughout, but I was glad to have them confirmed at the end.

I will be eagerly awaiting the third book in this series to figure out what happens to Battle, and how he will defend his home, his friends, and his newly acquired accomplices.


Canyon (The Traveler Series #2) by Tom Abrahams (Narrated by Kevin Pierce)five-stars
Canyon (Traveler #2) by Tom Abrahams
Narrator: Kevin Pierce
Length: 7 hrs and 22 mins
Series: The Traveler Series #2
Published by Piton Press on March 10, 2016
Genres: Post-Apocalyptic, Prepper
Format: Audiobook
Buy From Amazon
Buy from Audible



Marcus Battle has left behind his home.

Now he’s on a seemingly impossible mission to find a missing child. But can he balance that responsibility with his deep, primal desire to exact revenge on the men who destroyed his solitary existence?

The world he discovers on his journey isn’t the one he remembers before a pneumonic plague called The Scourge killed two-thirds of the world’s population. It is lawless, depraved, and far-deadlier than the disease which created it.

Battle made a promise to find that child. It’s a promise he regrets more acutely with every step of the journey where he is as much the hunter as he is the hunted.

I received this book for free. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Also by this author: Home (Traveler #1), Wall (Traveler #3), SpaceMan, Descent
Also in this series: Home (Traveler #1), Wall (Traveler #3), Rising, Battle


Tom AbrahamsTom has traveled places most people would avoid.

He’s braved the stinging winds of a category four hurricane as it pounded The Gulf of Mexico, living and working without power for days.

He’s picked his way through the Amazon jungle, trekked across the irradiated exclusion zone of Chernobyl, Ukraine, and climbed the crumbling, high-altitude stone steps leading from the barrio Tacubaya, Miguel Hildalgo, in Mexico City.

He’s been evacuated in an ambulance from the barren Badlands of western Canada.

Tom is a veteran television journalist and author who’s spent the last 20-plus years telling the biggest stories of our time.

He’s reported from the East Room of White House and Capitol Hill, interviewed Presidents and presidential candidates, and was at the Pentagon while smoke still rose in the hours after 9/11.

Tom is a hybrid author (traditionally and self-published) who writes post-apocalyptic thrillers, action adventure, and political conspiracies.

His ALLEGIANCE series is published by traditional publisher POST HILL PRESS as is the stand-alone conspiracy novel SEDITION.

AMAZON commissioned his PILGRIMAGE trilogy of novellas for Kindle Worlds. They are based on the best-selling Post Apocalyptic series THE PERSEID COLLAPSE by Steven Konkoly.

He is currently at work on The Traveler Series of Post-Apocalyptic/Dystopian Adventures. HOME debuted in December 2015. CANYON will release in March 2016. WALL will release in July 2016. A fourth, as yet unnamed, book will release in October/November 2016.

Tom lives in the Houston suburbs with his wife, Courtney, and their two children.

Read more about Tom’s work at


Leave a Reply