I Couldn’t Put It Down

5 out of 5 stars

All he wants is peace.  All he finds is war.

This might be one of the best opening lines I’ve read for a synopsis ever – and it fits this book and story so well.

I’m unsure if this is the last book in The Traveler Series (at least for Battle), but it was a great way to clean up some of the loose ends. I want to write more – but I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone who’s gotten 5 books deep in the series so far.

As with the last book, I loved Battle and Lou’s stories, connection, and interaction. Lou is such a great character I’m glad that Abrahams is giving her, her own book for book 6 of the series.  I finished Battle and instantly jumped into Legacy because I wanted to know exactly what he was going to write for/about her.

As with all reviews – I don’t want to give much up, but their interaction, especially in the middle (sheriff) and the end were intimate and real.  I love Abrahams for it.  It’s just nice to feel like you’re reading about real people and not just characters.

Also, the inclusion of more about the Scourge had me perked up.  I want to know more and more about it and I was given a slight taste in this book. It just makes me wonder what a bio-thriller book by Abrahams would look like (though this is borderline in some of the stories).

Overall, I thought that Battle was a great book with great stories in it.  I loved every minute of it and literally finished it in an afternoon. I couldn’t put it down.

Book Description:

All he wants is peace.

All he finds is war.

Marcus Battle is a wanted man. No matter where he goes or what he does, he can’t escape those who aim to kill him.

But as he fights off one would-be vigilante after another, a new threat emerges. It’s a threat worse than the viral Scourge which plunged his world into a dystopian nightmare and it could give rise to second apocalypse.

Can Marcus fend off the coming attacks or will he finally fall prey to an enemy he won’t see coming?

Battle by Tom Abrahams
Narrator: Kevin Pierce
Length: 7 hrs and 25 mins
Series: The Traveler Series #5
Published by Piton Press on November 9th 2017
Genres: Post-Apocalyptic
Format: Audiobook
Buy from Audible
Also by this author: Home (Traveler #1), Canyon (Traveler #2), Wall (Traveler #3), SpaceMan
Also in this series: Home (Traveler #1), Canyon (Traveler #2), Wall (Traveler #3), Rising


Leave a Reply