Emergency Skin by N. K. Jemisin

Emergency Skin by N. K. Jemisin

Fascinating and a Unique Point of View

5 out of 5 stars

The fact that you never hear the protagonists voice is something I don’t think I’ve ever heard in a book before. It really messed with my brain, but in a good way. It was a brand new storytelling technique I’ve never enjoyed before and really intrigued me.

Another funny thing is that they keep using the word “technorati” – I actually work for a company that bought out a company whose name was technorati and it really started to mess with my brain while listening to this since we still use that name from time to time.

It’s pretty much impossible to write a “real” review of this since anything I talk about will be a spoiler in a short story like this. Just know you’re in for a book that was different than any other technothriller or sci-fi book I’ve ever read.

Throw in Jason Isaacs narration and this is a fantastic story.  His narration is so smooth and kept my interest throughout Jemisin’s story.

Book Description:

Emergency Skin by N. K. Jemisin

Audible narration by Jason Isaacs (Star Trek: Discovery)

What will become of our self-destructed planet? The answer shatters all expectations in this subversive speculation from the Hugo Award-winning author of the Broken Earth trilogy.

An explorer returns to gather information from a climate-ravaged Earth that his ancestors, and others among the planet’s finest, fled centuries ago. The mission comes with a warning: a graveyard world awaits him. But so do those left behind – hopeless and unbeautiful wastes of humanity who should have died out eons ago. After all this time, there’s no telling how they’ve devolved. Steel yourself, solider. Get in. Get out. And try not to stare.

N. K. Jemisin’s Emergency Skin is part of Forward, a collection of six stories of the near and far future from out-of-this-world authors. Each piece can be read or listened to in a single thought-provoking sitting.

Emergency Skin by N. K. Jemisin
Narrator: Jason Isaacs
Length: 1 hr and 4 mins
Series: Forward #3
Published by Brilliance Audio on September 17th 2019
Genres: Science Fiction, Technothriller
Format: Audiobook
Buy from Audible
Also in this series: Randomize, Ark, You Have Arrived At Your Destination, Summer Frost


Leave a Reply