Icefall by David Wood

Icefall by David Wood

A Vacation-Turned-Adventure, The Maddock Way

4.5 out of 5 stars

I usually don’t read books out of order but I seem to have a bunch of Wood’s books that are just all over the place.  I’ve been trying to get caught up and I’m probably still more than 10 books behind.  I was glancing through my library and stumbled across this book. I’ve enjoyed every one of his Maddock-related books to date so I figured I was in for a blast.

I was right, Icefall was right up my alley.  It starts with what seems to be a vacation but Bones and Dane stumble across a murder in a church and a long-held secret is let out by a dying priest.  They are off on another adventure.

I can’t tell if this is Bone’s sisters’ first book or not (I have not read the book before this to know for sure) but I really liked her characters.  She’s basically an MMA fighter who is built similarly to her gigantic brother Bones and also knows how to kick some butt.

The story jumps around in Europe a bit but each place they went to served its purpose and sounded fascinating to visit.  Every time I read one of these books I wish that I traveled more… but not like these guys – they are always finding trouble everywhere they go.

Near the very end – a new creature is featured and it was a pretty awesome few minutes while they met, exchanged idols, and they were shown the way out of the caves. It was a weird but interesting scene that I enjoyed.

Icefall is definitely one of the shorter books in this series but it is not missing the action and adventure that you’re used to if you’ve read the other books. I enjoyed it and if you’re a fan of the Dane Maddock series, I think you will too.

Book Description:

Icefall (Dane Maddock #4) by David Wood (Narrated by Jeffrey Kafer)Icefall by David Wood
Narrator: Jeffrey Kafer
Length: 2 hrs and 57 mins
Series: Dane Maddock #3
Published by Gryphonwood Press on March 8th 2012
Genres: Adventure

When the bones of the Magi are stolen from their resting place in a German cathedral, the whispered words of a dying priest catapult Dane Maddock and Bones Bonebrake into the midst of a deadly race to solve a centuries-old conspiracy. Danger lurks at every turn, and no one knows where the clues will lead... or what they will uncover. From ancient cathedrals to hidden temples to icy mountain peaks, Dane and Bones must outrun and outwit their enemies in the thrilling adventure - Icefall.

Also by this author: Quest (Dane Maddock #3), Amber (Dane and Bones Origins #7), Treasure of the Dead, Xibalba (Dane Maddock #8)
Also in this series: Quest (Dane Maddock #3), Xibalba (Dane Maddock #8), Loch, Dourado


Leave a Reply