The Key to You and Me Audiobook Cover

The Key to You and Me Audiobook Cover

Really Cute

5 out of 5 stars

The Key To You and Me is one of those stories that had me grinning from ear to ear throughout. Both main characters in it were likeable and interesting in their own ways and for vastly different reasons. And the combination of the two of them, the good and the bad, really made this an enjoyable story.

I also found it interesting that one of the main characters was completely out and happy about it while the other wasn’t sure and started to realize that the feelings that they had for other women wasn’t what everyone felt. Each character had something to learn from the other and I thought that dichotomy between them was intriguing.

Brown did a good job at setting the scenes, the drama was good without being overboard, and I thought that she wrote a story that really made me happy throughout. The things that Piper and Kat were going through are real, teenage issues. And the way that she was able to call them out and really bring them to the forefront stood out to me.

Throw in a great dual narration by Katherine Littrell & Jennifer Jill Araya and you have a great story and an even better audiobook. I really enjoyed this one and if you pick it up, I hope that you do too.

Book Description:

The Key to You and Me Audiobook Cover

A sweet and funny ownvoices LGBTQ+ romance perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Julie Murphy, from the critically acclaimed author of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit!

Piper Kitts is spending the summer living with her grandmother, training at the barn of a former Olympic horseback rider, and trying to get over her ex-girlfriend. Much to Piper’s dismay, her grandmother is making her face her fear of driving by taking lessons from a girl in town.

Kat Pearson has always suspected that she likes girls but fears her North Carolina town is too small to color outside the lines. But when Piper’s grandmother hires Kat to give her driving lessons, everything changes. Piper’s not sure if she’s ready to let go of her ex. Kat’s navigating uncharted territory with her new crush. With the summer running out, will they be able to unlock a future together?

“Piper and Kat are imperfect, but always trying their best – aren’t we all? – and Brown had me rooting for them all the way through this sweet, slow burn romance. Their triumphs, their blunders, and the way they swing between confidence and self-doubt are utterly relatable.” (Misa Sigura, award-winning author of It’s Not Like It’s a Secret)

The Key to You and Me by Jaye Robin Brown
Narrator: Jennifer Jill Araya, Katherine Littrell
Length: 8 hrs and 16 mins
Published by HarperAudio on April 20th 2021
Genres: LGBTQ+, Romance, YA
Format: Audiobook
Buy from Audible

Leave a Reply