What. A. Story.

5 out of 5 stars

Losing Sommer was one of those books I won’t forget for quite some time. I’ve read a lot of Harvey’s books in the past, and this one feels like he hit his stride with both Nora’s character (how she is with people) and her life arc (basically revenge for how she was wronged). It’s rare that a series goes on long enough that you can see real growth in someone you didn’t expect to see – and while I’m sure that Nora won’t be “perfect” moving forward, I do believe that she wants to do better.

This one starts out with a seemingly “simple” suicide – but something itches in the back of Nora’s mind and she can’t figure out why it feels like more than that. The story follows her investigation and her chasing her gut feelings/leads around trying to figure out why a seemingly successful businessman took his life. The interactions she has with different people and the gut feelings that lead her to certain places are top-notch and really make this story shine.

Without spoiling too much, the story is almost a two-parter. The latter part of the story is such an interesting change from the beginning, though Harvey does a wonderful job tying the loose ends and linking them together the best he can. Sommers has been trying to take down the last member of the club where she was abused and he keeps getting away with it. That entire sting operation was fascinating and honestly, Harvey had me riveted to the seat. I couldn’t stop listening even if I wanted to (and I didn’t). The last hour or so flew by and I HAD to know what was going to happen.

Overall, I thought that Losing Sommer shined in an already amazing series. Harvey was showing off his writing prowess a bit here and wrote an absolute knockout of a book, five books deep into this series. I can’t wait to see where Nora goes in her journey

While this was a HEAVY book with lots of deep and dark topics – Harvey nailed them with both accuracy and gentleness.

Book Description:

Kindle Edition currently available with Kindle Unlimited – and the audiobook is available with Whispersync

A perfect life. A tragic loss. A carefully hidden agenda.

When a wealthy entrepreneur is found dead on Grand Cayman’s famed Seven Mile Beach, it appears to be a sad but simple case…until trainee detective Nora Sommer puzzles over one important detail…the victim had no discernible reason to take his own life.

Book five in the Nora Sommer Caribbean Suspense series delves into the dark and desperate corners of the human mind, while Nora attempts to solve the current mystery…and settle an old score.

Can be listened to in series or as a stand-alone novel.

Losing Sommer by Nicholas Harvey
Narrator: Kim Bretton
Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
Series: Nora Sommer #5
Published by Self Published on November 24th 2023
Genres: Adventure, Mystery
Format: Audiobook
Buy From Amazon
Buy from Audible
Also by this author: Angels of the Deep, Graceless, Deadly Sommer, Solomon's Well
Also in this series: Deadly Sommer, Stolen Sommer, Dark Sommer, Burning Sommer

Leave a Reply