Neon Leviathan by T.R. Napper (Narrated by Greg Patmore)

Neon Leviathan

Great World-Building and Characters

4.5 out of 5 stars

I knew going into this one that I was going to have to take a break from playing Cyberpunk 2077 for the few days it would take me to finish this. I knew that the worlds would be similar and I was worried that I was going to interchange some of the details. What Neon Leviathan is, is a collection of short stories that take place in a world that is “recovering” from a brutal war. It’s a collection of 12 stories that feature a lot of anti-heroes and those who you wouldn’t normally root for. It’s full of blood and gore and all of that nitty gritty stuff that a lot of authors shy away from.

I can’t pinpoint a specific story that stood out to me because they were all really enjoyable. I’m shocked to find that this is Napper’s first published work because these stories are extremely well laid out and have a seasoned author feel to them. The collection as a whole feels well thought out and felt like they were all interconnected (even if they weren’t).  Easily the best part of these stories was the world-building done in each one. Each story sort of builds up the world in a different way. Really, we’re just seeing it from different points of view and it gives this really interesting and wholistic view of it.

Neon Leviathan was a great collection of stories that I thoroughly enjoyed. I think the only issue I had was the fact that I read multiple stories in one sitting. I think that as a collection they’re great, but to really get to know and love each story on their own you should take this in the bite-sized pieces that each chapter/story is served up as.

Overall, a great audiobook with perfect narration from Greg Patmore. He was able to voice each story in a way that didn’t feel the same, even if his voices didn’t change much between stories.

Book Description:

Neon Leviathan

A collection of stories about the outsiders – the criminals, the soldiers, the addicts, the mathematicians, the gamblers and the cage fighters, the refugees and the rebels. From the battlefield, to alternate realities, to the mean streets of the dark city, we walk in the shoes of those who struggle to survive in a neon-saturated, tech-noir future.

Twelve hard-edged stories from the dark, often violent, sometimes strange heart of cyberpunk, this collection – as with all the best science fiction – is an exploration of who were are now. In the tradition of Dashiell Hammett, Philip K Dick, and David Mitchell, Neon Leviathan is a remarkable debut collection from a breakout new author.

Neon Leviathan by T.R. Napper
Narrator: Greg Patmore
Length: 11 hrs and 6 mins
Published by Crossroad Press on June 23rd 2020
Genres: Science Fiction
Format: Audiobook

0

Leave a Reply