Xibalba by David Wood

Xibalba by David Wood

A Thrill From Beginning To End

5 out of 5 stars

Xibalba, also known as the “Place of Fear” and some legends are real.  A mysterious illness is sweeping through South America and there are numerous people vying to stop it or control it. Sometimes to figure out a new issue you must look to the past.  Maddock and Bones are back together trying to stop the Serpent Brotherhood from fulfilling their disastrous plans involving the disease and its cure.

This is not my first or last book by David Wood.  He’s an incredibly talented writer who is always able to take me to another place.  Each book that Wood writes has always been able to take me to a new place and a new time in history.

The first thing about Xibalba that I liked was the cover.  All of Wood’s covers are gorgeous and tell a little bit about the story.

I’ve enjoyed every Maddock Adventure that I’ve read and I knew that I was in for a treat with Xibalba.  Maddock and Bones are easily some of the most fun and funny characters that I read in any series.  They are smart, ruthless, and hilarious together.  It makes for a really fun and enjoyable book even when they are put into perilous situations together.

The story itself was more up my alley than I was expecting.  Yes, it’s still a David Wood adventure story, but it also sprinkled in some bio-thriller aspects with the disease and the people that were working to fight and/or control it.  A win-win in my book.

Overall, Xibalba sticks out as one of the Maddock Adventures that I will remember more than the others.  I don’t know exactly why, but this book seemed to have it all.  A great story with great narration provided by the great Jeffrey Kafer.

Book Description:

Xibalba (Dane Maddock #8) by David Wood (Narrated by Jeffrey Kafer)five-stars
Xibalba (Dane Maddock #8) by David Wood
Narrator: Jeffrey Kafer
Length: 7hrs and 50 mins
Series: Dane Maddock #8
Published by Gryphonwood Press on August 18, 2017
Genres: Adventure
Pages: 290
Format: Audiobook
Buy From Amazon
Buy from Audible

A dark descent into the world of the dead.

Legends call it Xibalba—the Place of Fear. But some legends are true.

The discovery of a treasure in the Yucatan sets former Navy SEALs Dane Maddock and Bones Bonebrake on a search for the legendary Maya city of the dead, and into the path of deadly enemies. From ancient ruins to perilous jungles, Maddock and Bones must outwit the vicious Serpent Brotherhood, and find the fabled city before an old enemy unlocks its secrets and plunges the world into shadow. Can they survive the descent into Xibalba?

I received this book for free. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Also by this author: Quest (Dane Maddock #3), Amber (Dane and Bones Origins #7), Treasure of the Dead, Primordial
Also in this series: Quest (Dane Maddock #3), Loch, Dourado, Icefall

About the Author:

David Wood is the author of the popular action-adventure series, The Dane Maddock Adventures, and many other works. Under his David Debord pen name he is the author of the Absent Gods fantasy series. When not writing, he co-hosts the Authorcast podcast. David and his family live in Santa Fe, New Mexico.


Leave a Reply