A Story Worth Telling

5 out of 5 stars

Another stonking (forgive me, I’ve been watching a lot of Youtube lately of a British guy) intro line by Abrahams for Legacy: “She’s small. She’s quiet. She’s deadly.” I mean – don’t you want to read about Lou already? Lou might be one of the characters that I have an image in my head but I’d be really interested to see what or who Abrahams would compare her to (I might reach out and ask him since I’m that curious).

I rarely ever read books in a series back-to-back – usually because I’m caught up and the next book isn’t out. But I had the chance to read books 5 and 6 of the Traveler series back-to-back and I’m glad I did. Book 6, aka Legacy, is a standalone book in the Traveler Series. It tells the backstory of Lou. One that I could not wait to dive into.

From the other books, I knew that Lou was on her own and a master with her knives. I believe we met her in either book 4 or 3 and (not really spoiler alert) this book leads right up to the scene where Battle first meets Lou (and the same scene plays out in this book, too but from Lou’s perspective).

What I didn’t know was much of anything about Lou’s father and how she became to be a knife-master. Their story was really awesome and I found myself falling in love with this series all over again. Being able to learn about one of the most interesting young characters in a post-apocalyptic series was a dream for me and I think that Abrahams wrote this perfectly.

I couldn’t get over how young she was when this started and how quickly she realized that she was going to have to do things on her own. And try to learn every bit of knowledge her dad would share.

If you’ve read the other books in the Traveler Series – you’ll know a little about her backstory – but I thought it was interesting to hear them first hand. Lou shines as always and made this such a fun read.

Overall, I thought that Legacy might be one of the best books in the series and was definitely a story worth telling.

Book Description:

She’s small. She’s quiet. She’s deadly.

Lou survived the plague that killed her mother. As her father sheltered her from the evil that consumed the world, he taught her how to survive. After an ambush leaves her orphaned, the young, unassuming girl put her skills to the test. A wanderer every bit as brilliant as she is deadly, she forges a new path in the wilderness once known as Texas. But can she do it alone?

Legacy is a stand-alone novel within The Traveler Series world.

Legacy by Tom Abrahams
Narrator: Kevin Pierce
Length: 6 hrs and 41 mins
Series: The Traveler Series #6
Published by Piton Press on March 15th 2018
Genres: Post-Apocalyptic
Pages: 219
Buy From Amazon
Buy from Audible

I received this book for free. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Also by this author: Home (Traveler #1), Canyon (Traveler #2), Wall (Traveler #3), SpaceMan
Also in this series: Home (Traveler #1), Canyon (Traveler #2), Wall (Traveler #3), Rising


Leave a Reply