Prepper: Book 1 Tom Abrahams

Out of the Headlines

4.95 out of 5 stars (you know what you did)

I should have known, being a Tom Abrahams book, no matter how scary this storyline feels right now… (I’m looking at you Elon) – that he could pull it off without going too “heavy”. Prepper opens by introducing the cast of characters and hints at some interconnectivity but only a little. Abrahams has this way of writing main characters that just jump off of the page and Jack Warrant (another badass name) fits this bill perfectly.

Prepper was one of those books that made the “what crazy post-apocalyptic tale are they going to come up with next” feel way more real than it had any right doing. This story felt like it had all of the classic Abrahams tropes with some new features sprinkled in. This time we get to see it from the state government level – and also get to meet the people who actually push the button to make the lights go out. That’s not something a lot of these books can pull off, but Abrahams did and did it well.

If you don’t know, I’ve already read a lot of Tom’s books over the years and each one of them holds a special place in my heart (even being a character in one of them). But, each one of these books just jumps out of the headlines and into your face. But intelligently and interestingly. It’s not all conspiracy theories and tin foil hats (sure there are some characters like that). But it just has that feel of… I can’t put my finger on it. It’s just one of those things that somehow walks the tightrope perfectly.

Prepper starts off slow and builds into a crescendo, only to be met with a “this story continues with Prepper 2”. Now, I’ve commented on this in another series that Abrahams did before and it might be the lowest-rated book for him (I think I gave it a 4.25 or something). I can’t tell if I’m feeling good today or if I just understand that’s going to be the nature of some of these books, but this story was so fun and interesting he earns the near-full rating. Maybe it’s because I waited until the second book was already out on audio? Either way, Prepper was a methodical book that really sets up what feels like it’s going to be a fun and interesting series.

The voice of the apocalypse, Kevin Pierce narrated this one and I don’t need to say much other than… as always it fits the tone of the story. Pierce’s deep voice makes each of Tom’s characters come to life and these audiobooks wouldn’t feel the same without him at the mic.

Book Description:

Prepper: Book 1 Tom Abrahams

The power is gone. It was no accident. Only the prepared will survive….

Before the lights went out, Jack Warrant never considered himself a prepper. That was someone on the edge, a conspiracy theorist or a doomsday cultist who had a fatalistic view of the world. He was neither a theorist nor a cultist. He was an optimist. At least that was what he told himself when the darker thoughts creeped into his psyche as he stared at the ceiling in the middle of the night. Whenever he started down the rabbit hole, he always clawed his way back into the sunlight. But then the world as he knew it ended, and he realized he was wrong. About himself. About the lengths to which desperate people will go.

Prepper is the newest apocalyptic adventure series from Tom Abrahams, author of The Traveler series. It’s perfect for fans of Franklin Horton, Kyla Stone, and Ryan Schow.

Prepper: Book 1 by Tom Abrahams
Narrator: Kevin Pierce
Length: 7 hrs and 14 mins
Series: Prepper #1
on July 26th 2023
Also by this author: Home (Traveler #1), Canyon (Traveler #2), Wall (Traveler #3), SpaceMan
Also in this series: Prepper #2
Brian

Leave a Reply