Relentless Sommer Delivers Yet Again

4.5 out of 5 stars

From the moment I pressed play on Relentless Sommer by Nicholas Harvey, narrated by the unparalleled Kim Bretton, I was drawn into a whirlwind of suspense and emotion. As the sixth installment in the Nora Sommer Caribbean Suspense series, this book does not disappoint. Harvey masterfully crafts a tale that is as heart-wrenching as it is thrilling, keeping me on the edge of my seat from start to finish.

What I adore most about this series, and particularly this book, is getting inside Nora’s head. There’s something so endearing about her struggles with English idioms. In Relentless Sommer, watching her piece together the puzzle of the tragic accidents was like being on a rollercoaster of emotions.

Harvey’s ability to intertwine Nora’s personal growth with the overarching suspense plot is nothing short of brilliant. The seemingly disjointed storyline, with Nora chasing what felt like wild geese (one of those idioms she hilariously couldn’t remember), was done with such purpose and precision that it made the payoff even more satisfying. At points, I felt like I was as confused and frustrated as Nora.

The “replay” section (as I think of it), where Nora revisits the events to piece together the truth, was both funny and gripping, showcasing Harvey’s ability to seamlessly blend humor with high-stakes tension. Each new lead that Nora followed came with a palpable sense of urgency, making it impossible to stop listening.

Kim Bretton’s narration is, as always, a highlight. She doesn’t just read the story; she *becomes* Nora. Bretton’s performance adds a layer of depth and authenticity to the character that is truly special.

“Relentless Sommer” can be enjoyed as a standalone novel, but I highly recommend diving into the earlier books in the series to fully appreciate Nora’s journey. This book is a testament to Harvey’s skill as a storyteller and Bretton’s exceptional talent as a narrator. It’s a thrilling, heartfelt ride that will leave you eagerly awaiting the next installment. If you’re a fan of suspenseful mysteries with well-developed characters and an engaging narrative, this book is a must-listen.

Book Description:

An inexplicable accident. A deadly price for truth. A relentless pursuit.

When a heart-wrenching accident claims the life of a recently divorced woman, foul play is the last thing on anyone’s mind. Until the life of another woman is lost in an equally strange incident, and Constable Nora Sommer’s instincts convince her there is more to these tragedies than meets the eye.

Despite her detective training being side lined after a disciplinary hearing, Nora is compelled to piece together an alternative theory for the deaths, which continue to mount. And so begins a deadly game of cat and mouse… where each new lead comes at the ultimate cost of another victim.

Can be listened to in series, or as a stand-alone novel.

Relentless Sommer by Nicholas Harvey
Narrator: Kim Bretton
Length: 7 hrs and 46 mins
Series: Nora Sommer #6
on May 9th 2024
Genres: Mystery, Suspense
Format: Audiobook
Also by this author: Angels of the Deep, Graceless, Deadly Sommer, Solomon's Well
Also in this series: Deadly Sommer, Stolen Sommer, Dark Sommer, Burning Sommer

Leave a Reply